Grilled Corn, Avocado and Tomato Salad

grilled corn on the cob

I love corn on the cob, doesn’t matter if it’s steamed, boiled or grilled, just add some butter and a light sprinkling of salt and I’m in heaven. But even when you love something there is a limit to how much is too much.

grilled corn saladLast week was the first week for fresh sweet corn at our local Farmers Market. So I bought five ears. Some of you would think that’s not an unusually large number but I’m the only one eating it. I happily gorged myself on two ears that evening knowing that there were still three left. Plenty to satisfy my corn cravings. Two more were happily consumed the next day but somehow I just couldn’t eat that last ear in the same sitting. Was my corn craving slowing down?

Having corn somewhat on the brain by now, I noticed a recipe for Grilled Corn, Avocado and Tomato Salad with Honey Lime Dressing while browsing some recipes online. Having all the ingredients on hand I decided to give it a try. Not only did it sound good it would use up the last ear of corn. The only deviation from the recipe I made was the addition of some fresh salad shrimp that needed to be eaten. The combination of ingredients was tasty and made the perfect light meal for a hot summer evening.

Now it’s the fourth day and there is no more corn to enjoy or worry about eating. The pressure is off but deep down I can hear the tiniest voice saying “You should have gotten more than five”.

You can find the recipe here.  It’s from For The Love of Cooking, July 2009.

6 thoughts on “Grilled Corn, Avocado and Tomato Salad

  1. This salad looks soooo good! I’ll be sure to try it, although getting avocados around here this time of year is hard. We grow our own corn and much of it gets frozen in vacuum sealed bags and containers. It stays incredibly fresh, so perhaps I can use this recipe when the California avocados start hitting our markets. Thanks!

    • If you can wait for the avocados it will be worth it. They add so much to the recipe. Having access to them almost year round I am spoiled.

      I admire you and Maureen freezing and canning the foods you grow. I’ve done my share of canning and freezing but that was when I was much younger and had a family. Now I just eat what I raise and or can buy locally.

  2. That corn looks so good! We are getting a little good corn now, but it’s not local. I can hardly wait for our local stuff.

    Have you ever cooked fresh corn in a microwave? It sounds crazy but really works. Just put the whole ear in the microwave in it’s whole husk and cook for 4 minutes on high. (4 minutes per ear if you cook several). Take it out and cut off the big end just far enough up to cut through all of the husks. Then you can squeeze the ear out leaving all of the silk in the husks and the ear is perfectly clean, cooked just right and none of its goodness is lost.

Leave a Reply

