Sunday 11/8 Sacramento Certified Farmers Market-Yam Leaves

As I wandered through the market this morning I diligently wrote notes about the vendors that were there. I noted what they had that was new for the season. After purchasing some fuji apples, red flame grapes, onions, cilantro and some Japanese sweet potatoes I headed towards the parking lot and then it happened. I spotted yam leaves. Whoa, I’ve never seen these before. So I bought some. Couldn’t wait to get home to do some research on my new find.

Seems like they, like so many greens, are popular with the Asian community. That makes sense. I got mine from one of the many Asian produce vendors. They are  low in Saturated Fat, and very low in Cholesterol. They is also a good source of Vitamin E (Alpha Tocopherol), Niacin and Phosphorus, and a very good source of Dietary Fiber, Vitamin A, Vitamin K, Thiamin, Riboflavin, Vitamin B6, Folate, Magnesium, Potassium and Manganese. Sounds yummy to me. So now how do I cook them?

Some research turned up an interesting post from Cinnybear, a wordpress blogger.  Her post from 11/07 for  yam leaves talked to me. It not only looked wonderful in the great picture on the post, but the recipe sounded  like it was something that would be a perfect part of tonight’s dinner.

If you haven’t gotten out to the market this morning there’s still time. Go out and support the farmers who bring you fresh fruits and veggies each week. Buy a beautiful bouquet of flowers for the table. Enjoy earth’s harvest.

If you try something unusual this week. Let me know what it was and if you liked or disliked it, and why. I’d love to hear from you.

 

 

Leave a Reply

