Doing too much can cause . . .

You know those days. You are trying to squeeze everything into one day. You can do it. No problem, Right?

So, the other day I was getting a recipe together for an upcoming potluck, making pie for a dinner date that evening and prepping for a recipe that I just had to try called Fruitcake Bars (more on these later), from a David Lebovitz blog. Everything is going well. Potluck recipe prep is done. Pumpkin pie (the same I highlighted recently) is in the oven. Now I’m gathering the ingredients for the Fruitcake Bars; chopped dried fruit, roasted walnuts, almond flour, baking soda, baking power, eggs. Eggs! All of a sudden it dawns on me that I didn’t add the eggs to the pumpkin pie, the same pie that has been in the oven for at least 20 minutes. This is not good news. What do I do now? Well, I have two options. Option 1: Remove the partially baked pie from the oven and throw the whole thing out and start again OR, Option 2, add the eggs now and continue cooking the pie. I chose option 2. I beat the eggs well and then carefully mixed them back into the filling, which was still in the crust. Then I said a little blessing, and put the pie back in the oven. When the timer went off I checked the pie and it definitely needed more time, so I added 10 minutes. Checked it again, and then added another 10 minutes. Done just right and it looked pretty darned good considering.  The final test came that night after diner when I cut into it and served it with a nice dollop of whipped cream spiced up with a little Grand Marnier. It was perfectly yummy and not bad looking either. Sometimes, what seems like a disaster turns out to not be as bad as we imagine. Or, sometimes we just get lucky.

Leave a Reply

