Spaghetti Squash

I cooked up a nice little spaghetti squash yesterday. Beautiful, isn’t it? It was easy to fix. I just cut it in half, well that wasn’t as easy as it could have been, scooped out the seeds, place the squash cut side down in a baking dish, added about an inch of water, covered the dish with foil and popped it into a 350° oven for about an hour and a half. Guess this could take two hrs or so if the squash was a large one. You can tell if it’s done if it’s soft to the touch or it’s easily pierced with a fork. Great, I said to myself, now I have this lovely squash all ready to go. How do I want to eat it tonight? I took the easy way out.

I heated up a very nice little marinara sauce I had in my pantry, spooned it over the squash and topped it with some nice shaved parmesan cheese. A little salad on the side and I had a very nice little dinner. If you don’t want to eat a vegetarian version, add some browned ground turkey, ground beef or some sausage to the sauce. I really wanted to throw in some sauteed Crimini mushrooms but I had used all I had, and they were sold out when I hit the market on Sunday. That happens when you go later in the morning. So next time I fix this version, I’ll add sauteed mushrooms and perhaps a nice little bit of sauteed chard too. All in all it was an easy, satisfying, and tasty dinner.

Since I still had enough squash left over for at least a couple more meals, I decided to check out other ways to serve spaghetti squash. After about an hour of surfing around and reading recipes, I came across one that was very close a recipe I use for rice, and I thought that it sounded pretty good. The other factors in my choice were that I had fresh sage in the garden and pine nuts in the freezer. Wa la, lunch today. For this version, I toasted the pine nuts in a dry fry pan until they were golden. I always add more than I need because I have a habit of tasting these lovely little nuts while I’m cooking them. After the nuts are toasted I remove them from the pan and add a little olive oil, a pat of butter, and the sage leaves. Then I sauté that mixture until the leaves are crisp. Crush the leaves in the oil mixture, and then pour it over the warmed squash. Top off with the pine nuts and there you have it. This version was very yummy.

I still have enough squash for one more meal and I will share with you how that will be fixed as soon as my sister sends me the details, or the recipe, for the version she cooked yesterday.

More to come . . . .

Put spaghetti squash on your Farmers’ Market shopping list, and maybe some Crimini mushrooms too. If you live in the Southwest you’ll also be able to buy pine nuts at your local Farmers’ Market.

2 thoughts on “Spaghetti Squash

  1. Hi Annie.
    It’s been awhile and wanted to see what you had cookin’! I love this stuff! Spaghetti squash! Isn’t it great! I have prepared it with meat sauce and cheese and it’s wonderful, especially without all the calories and carbs of pasta. Great post. Another favorite of mine is mashed cauliflower! Awesome! Cheryl

Leave a Reply

