Bradon’s Choice – Seascape Strawberries Dipped in Chocolate!

Another weekend, another grandson visits. This time it was with my oldest grandson, Bradon. We had a wonderful weekend filled with a variety of activities, including of course, a trip to the Farmers’ Market. This time we went to the Davis Farmers’ Market, a market he and I have traveled to many times in the almost nine years we have been hanging out together. Not to have his younger brother out do him, Bradon also decided he wanted to buy strawberries. There were plenty to choose from. My theory on strawberries is that if there is no “strawberry” aroma and they aren’t red all the way to the stem they aren’t ripe and will not be flavorful and juicy. Using this theory, we looked for the reddest berries and when we found some that looked particularly good; we’d slowly bend down and breathe deeply hoping the “strawberry aroma” would fill our noses. It came down to either Chandler or Seascape strawberries. Fitting choices since both varieties were developed at the University of California, Davis. Bradon decided the Seascape berries were the best. After tasting them, I think he made the right choice. Of course, I’m also his grandma, so I could be slightly biased.

Bradon decided he wanted to dip his strawberries in chocolate. So hunted through my cupboard and found some chocolate chips that we could melt. We added some butter and put it all into a little cup in a waterbath on top of the stove to melt. When the chips and butter had melted, we stirred it until the mixture was smooth, then Bradon dipped his strawberries. He laid the freshly dipped strawberries on a sheet of waxed paper to dry, and impatiently checked them every few minutes hoping that I would say they were ready to eat. I finally did and Bradon taste tested his creation. Needless to say he was very happy with the results.

As with Landon, there were a handful of strawberries leftover so grandma knew just what she was going to do with them. No, I didn’t have any more Panna Cotta left. But, I did have some stewed rhubarb that I wanted to pair up with some strawberries, so that’s just what I did. I also had just enough vanilla bean ice cream in the freezer to make one strawberry-rhubarb parfait. After a few tastes I added a handful of roasted sliced almonds.  It was the perfect combination; creamy, sweet-tart and crunchy. I’d definitely try this again. Since I have a little of the strawberry-rhubarb mixture left, I think I’ll try it for breakfast substituting Greek yogurt for the ice cream and granola for the nuts.

strawberry-rhubarb parfait with roasted sliced almonds

strawberry-rhubarb parfait

One thought on “Bradon’s Choice – Seascape Strawberries Dipped in Chocolate!

  1. This morning I tried the Greek yogurt with some granola and the strawberry-rhubarb leftovers. I liked just as much as the parfait. A very nice way to start the morning.

Leave a Reply

