TGIF

It’s Friday night and I’m tired. I really don’t want to take a lot of time to cook something and the urge to just snack on junk is strong. I’ve had a busy week and have been fighting off a sinus infection so my energy level is real low and my attitude is not a pretty thing. Pushing myself into the kitchen I avoid the pantry, where the snacks are, and browse the fridge for ingredients. There are 4 small zucchini, a few mushrooms, carrots and some salad greens. Ok that’s easy. I’ll fix a zucchini frittata (or open-faced omelet if you prefer) and a nice little salad. Sometimes  I forget how meditative preparing a meal can be for me. It gets me out of my head, out of feeling sorry for myself and into caring for myself. This week that’s a good place for me to be.

For the frittata I slice a shallot and some garlic and brown then add the sliced zucchini, add a little water, cover and steam for a few minutes till almost tender then I add 2 eggs that have been beaten and some shredded cheese. I put the cover back on and cook over a medium heat until the egg is cooked. At this point if you want to go the extra mile, which tonight I didn’t you can put the frittata under the broiler to brown it, or you could fold it into an omelet.

For the salad I sliced several mushrooms thinly and grated some carrot then added some vinaigrette, then tossed the mixture with the greens and topped the salad with some toasted sliced almonds.

The meal was just right and I’m really glad I won’t be going to bed tonight with “snack guilt”.

I’m looking forward to getting to the farmers’ market this weekend where I hope to buy some white peaches and nectarines and of course a nice selection of veggies.

2 thoughts on “TGIF

  1. Yum…that’s what I did tonight as well, but mine was just a simple omelette with cheese and tomatoes. Rest!!! The Dr. gave me a clean bill of health, so my resting days are over – ah they were nice while they lasted! Back to the Gym!
    Have a great weekend and thank you for all the tasty dishes and beautiful pictures – they are very appetizing!
    Hugs

Leave a Reply

