Cool Asian Slaw On A Hot Day

It’s hot today and so I opted for a cool salad for lunch.  I had a small cabbage, some carrots, a bit of broccoli, sweet red pepper and a left over cooked chicken thigh all needing to be used and so inspired by a few Asian style slaw recipes I have read of late I started slicing and tossing and this is what I came up with. I used chives instead of onion because that’s what’s in my garden. Besides, the flowers look pretty in the mix. Sliced red onion, or a sweet white onion would work just fine. I think the addition of Thai basil would be a nice touch but my garden’s supply isn’t ready yet. It also would be tasty to add some sliced nectarine or mango if you have some. I’d definitely try this again. Maybe next time with some salad shrimp.

Please let me know if you have any ideas for additions. I’m sure there are lots that I haven’t even thought of. Enjoy and stay cool!

ANNIE’S ASIAN SLAW

Dressing:

2 T rice vinegar

1 T honey

2 tsp sesame oil

2 tsp soy sauce

¼ cup canola oil (if you substitute peanuts for the cashews then substitute peanut oil for

the canola.

In a small bowl or glass measuring cup mix all the ingredients and whisk until dressing is well combined.

Salad:

½ small head of savoy or regular cabbage, cored, and shredded

1 medium carrot julienned

½ red bell pepper julienned

1 stalk broccoli, peeled and julienned (optional)

½ to 1 cup shredded cooked chicken

¼ cup unsalted roasted cashews

2 tsp toasted sesame seeds (you could also substitute unsalted sunflower seeds)

1 Tablespoon chopped chives (plus the flowers)

Toss ingredients together; add dressing and toss again. Serve immediately.

Makes 2 servings

2 thoughts on “Cool Asian Slaw On A Hot Day

  1. Ann, I use chopped apple or red (seedless) grapes in my slaw. If it’s winter and I don’t have anything, sometimes (I know this is sacrilege to you) a can of mandarin sections. I like the sweet of the fruit in contrast with the other. Stay cool.

Leave a Reply

