103° Today!

Is there anything that tastes better than a slice of icy cold watermelon,

on a hot,

hot summer day?

I don’t think so. Do you?

The summer heat isn’t one of my favorite things about summer but it does bring us watermelons. Watermelon may just be the perfect summer food. We all know it’s sweet and juicy but did you know that watermelon contains higher levels of lycopene than fresh tomatoes?

Check out the  Watermelon.org site for information on nutrition, selection & storage, how watermelons grow, recipes and a fun facts kid’s page. And, don’t forget to pick up a watermelon this weekend at the Farmers’ Market.

2 thoughts on “103° Today!

  1. ! Lovely watermelon pictures and your site is making me feel like I do when I’m in a supermarket and hungry – I’m trying to hold back from making all of the recipes tonight! Glad to have found your site to follow….

    -Carrie

    • I glad you did too. Wow you guys are doing some very cool work. I work with K-12 kids in an environmental program that teaches the importance of wetlands. Also monitor about 30 wood duck boxes for the California Waterfowl Association. Put your site on my Google Reader so I can keep up with your work. Thanks for your very nice comments. That watermelon was so sweet and juicy. I haven’t had one that good since.

Leave a Reply

