I Never Thought The Day Would Come, But It Did.

One of the stands at my Farmers’ Market has the sweetest corn, temptingly sweet. Each week I buy two or more ears, with four being the maximum since there’s only one person doing the eating.  And every week I simply cook it in a little water until it is just barely done. It has been so sweet  that recently I haven’t even wanted butter or salt on it. This has been going on for weeks now. But this last week I’d had enough of corn on the cob. I didn’t think I would get to that point but I did. Trouble was I still had a couple of ears that needed to be eaten so, I fell back on an old favorite, a sauté with smoky bacon and sweet scallions. It was the perfect transition.

Sautéed Corn With Bacon and Scallions

Serves 2

In a heavy skillet sauté 2 slices of bacon, cut into 1/4” slices, until well they are browned. Add two scallions that have been sliced into 1/8” slices. Sauté until wilted. Add 1 ½ cups fresh corn kernels (cut from about 3 ears). Add a pinch of dried hot red pepper flakes (don’t be afraid to add these, it won’t make it too hot). Sauté for 1 minute then cover for another minute. Stir and serve.

You don’t have to wait until your sick of corn to try this and if you’re lucky enough to have leftovers they’re great in a salad.

2 thoughts on “I Never Thought The Day Would Come, But It Did.

Leave a Reply

