Homemade Buttermilk Biscuits with Strawberry Freezer Jam

Cravings

James Beard's buttermilk biscuits

I have been craving homemade buttermilk biscuits for weeks now. It’s one of the things I like making for leisurely Sunday morning breakfasts. Problem is, I haven’t had a leisurely Sunday morning for months now. There always seems to be something going on. Two things came together recently to make my leisurely morning wish come true. The first; I found some organic strawberries. What do organic strawberries have to do with buttermilk biscuits? Well, part of my craving was to have homemade strawberry jam on my biscuits and making jam just doesn’t fit into a leisurely morning.  With the strawberries I made freezer jam. The recipe made about 6 half-pints, which is just enough to share with my family, a few friends and myself. Seeing the jam sitting in the refrigerator each time I opened it became the second motivating factor in satiating my craving.

That Sunday I headed to the Farmers Market early, anxious to get back home and begin a leisurely breakfast. I put together a half recipe of buttermilk biscuits, popped them in the oven and waited what seemed to be a very long 15 minutes, before they were ready. I placed  a cup of hot coffee; a plate of butter, a jar of strawberry jam and some steaming hot biscuits on a tray and headed out to my patio table.

Buttermilk Biscuits

From James Beard’s American Cookery

2 cups unsifted all-purpose flour (I used half oat flour ad half unbleached flour)

2 ½ teaspoons baking powder

½ teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon baking soda

1/3 cup butter

¾ cup buttermilk

Combine all the dry ingredients and sift into a mixing bowl. Add the butter and blend in well. Stir in the buttermilk and blend till the dough holds together, Turn out on a floured board and flour the top of the dough lightly. Knead about 3 minutes and pat or roll out in a circle about ½ inch thick. Cut the biscuits any size you like, dip them into a little melted butter, and arrange on a baking sheet or in a 9 x 9-inch buttered pan. Bake at 450 degrees for 12 to 15 minutes.

There amongst the backdrop of my flower garden, with the bees buzzing and birds singing I finally had my leisurely breakfast and it was just what I had been dreaming of.

Here are a couple of links to try

if you want to try your hand at  making strawberry freezer jam. The first link 30 Minutes to Homemade Sure.Jell Strawberry Freezer Jam is from the Kraft Foods site and explains how to use their Sure Jell pectin mix to prepare jam. The second is from a blog called Simple Organic, Back to Nature, Back to Basics, written by Katie Fox, it’s simply called Homemade Strawberry Freezer Jam. She uses white grape juice and honey to sweeten the jam and no-sugar pectin to jell it. I didn’t find this recipe until recently and definitely would like to try it. If you do try this one, be sure to leave a comment on Katie’s blog and let her know how you liked it. Oh, and please let me know too.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Buttermilk Biscuits with Strawberry Freezer Jam

  1. Check out the food blogs. I know I just saw one that talked about making their own pectin. Maybe even Google – apple pectin or homemade pectin. If you do try the freezer jam with the apple or natural pectin, please let me know how it turned out. I’d like to give it a try too!

  2. I really love freezer jam, but I am trying to avoid store-bought pectin. I may have to experiment with apple pectin and freezer jam ‘cuz this looks delish!

Leave a Reply

