Chocolate + Zucchini

I have procrastinated all week regarding an invitation to a Potluck/Barn Dance. It sounded fun, but the thought of coming up with a recipe for the potluck was where I was stuck. It’s been a long week with lots going on and so the procrastination happily continued until this afternoon when I either had to commit and get on with it, or beg out. I decided to get online and buy my ticket. That was the bait. I hate paying for something I won’t use. Ticket bought (or you could say hook firmly in mouth) I started thinking about what I was going to make. I really wanted to do something with ingredients I have on hand, with one of those ingredients being zucchini. I thought about a squash casserole but only for a minute. Since it is more like a quiche, and folks are a little edgy about eggs right now, I decided to think up something else. And then it came to me; Chocolate Zucchini Cake. Who doesn’t love chocolate cake?

Off to the kitchen to check ingredients. Yes sir eeeee! I have everything. Chocolate Zucchini Cake it is.

This recipe is from a 1974 Sunset Magazine clipping.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake

2 ½ cups all-purpose flour, unsifted

½ cup cocoa

2 ½ teaspoons baking powder

1 ½ teaspoons soda

1 teaspoon each salt and cinnamon

¾ cup soft butter

2 cups sugar

3 eggs (mine were from a local grower who’s chickens run loose in his garden by day and sleep in a coop at night so the critters don’t get em)

2 teaspoons each vanilla and grated orange peel (I didn’t have a fresh orange so I omitted the peel)

2 cups coarsely shredded zucchini (any summer squash, yellow or green, will work)

½ cup milk

1 cup chopped pecans or walnuts (I used the pecans)

Glaze. Mix together 2 cups powdered sugar, 3 tablespoons milk, and 1 teaspoon vanilla;

Beat until smooth.

Combine the four, cocoa, baking powder, soda, salt, and cinnamon; set aside. With a rotary mixer beat together the butter and sugar until they are smoothly blended.

Add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. With a spoon, stir in the vanilla, orange peel, and zucchini. Alternately stir the dry ingredients and the milk into zucchini mixture, including the nuts with last addition.

Pourbatter into a greased and flour-dusted 10” tube pan or bundt pan. Bake in a 350° oven for about 1 hour or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool in pan 15 minutes; turn out on wire rack to cool thoroughly. Drizzle glaze over cake. Cut in thin slices to serve. Makes 10 to 12 servings.

8 thoughts on “Chocolate + Zucchini

  1. Thank you. I’m glad you like my recipes. It’s easy to get stuck using old stand by recipes that’s why I like the blogs. They encourage me to get out and try something new, especially when there is such an abundance in my garden. Your tomatoes look incredible. Might just have to try some of your seeds.

  2. Your blog is really a treasure! I love all of your recipes on here, they cater to how we like to eat with all of the garden produce. What a great way to use up all of the zucchini, lol, I get stuck using the old stand by recipes trying not to waste the bounty. My family will sure appreciate a new, sweet, recipe for it!

  3. Bee –
    Well, since it’s winter in the southern hemisphere I can understand why you don’t have any seasonally appropriate summer squash. When you do get a chance to try this recipe I hope you end up liking this as much as I do. It’s an easy go to recipe and a great way to use summer squash.

  4. Great recipe. Thank you! I live in the southern hemisphere so there aren’t any seasonally appropriate zucchinis at the moment. But I’ve saved a link to your recipe and will be sure to try it once the zucchini glut hits my part of the world

Leave a Reply

